QUOTE(Champs 5 times @ Mar 10 2012, 09:27 PM)
The rule for drawing charges is different for a player who is playing on-ball defense than for a player who is playing help defense. In fact, a player playing on ball defense is allowed to draw charges even within the restricted circle. Why?
It's all about when you establish legal guarding position (directly facing the player with the ball, both feet planted). Clearly it was established in this case. Then:
Art. 6. To maintain a legal guarding position after the initial position has been
attained, the guard:
e. May move laterally or obliquely to maintain position provided such a
move is not toward the opponent when contact occurs;
f. Is not required to have the feet on the playing court when shifting in the
path of the dribbler or when moving laterally or obliquely;
Considering neither player had any intention to foul, you would have to consider:
Section 40. Incidental Contact
Art. 1. All contact shall not constitute a foul. When 10 players move rapidly in a
limited area, some contact is certain to occur. Incidental contact shall be contact
with an opponent that is permitted and does not constitute a foul.
Art. 2. Contact that is incidental to an effort by an opponent to reach a loose
ball, or contact that results when opponents are in equally favorable positions
to perform normal defensive or offensive movement, should be permitted even
though the contact may be severe or excessive.
Art. 3. Contact that does not hinder the opponent from participating in normal
defensive or offensive movements shall be considered incidental.
thus, a no-call.
and then, from section 10.1, more confusion:
Art. 10. When a dribbler has obtained a straight-line path, the dribbler may not be
bumped, pushed or otherwise crowded out of that path.
When an opponent is able
to legally obtain a guarding position in that path
, the dribbler shall avoid contact
by changing direction or ending the dribble.
so is the sliding motion for both players considered not a straight-line path? it's just a lateral? or was KM actually moving in a straight line to the basket?
d. [defender] May shift to maintain guarding position in the path of the dribbler,
provided that the guard does not charge into the dribbler or otherwise
which invalidates position.
you are right about the feet placement. not necessary.